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 Overview of Vermont’s Franchise Law 
◦ Who and what is subject to the law? 

◦ Under what circumstances can a franchise be 
terminated? 

◦ What are some of the other features of Vermont’s 
law? 

◦ How would H.710 change Vermont’s law? 

 Relevant Examples from Other State’s Laws 
◦ Examples of Exemption Provisions 

◦ Examples of Fair Market Value Termination 
Provisions 



 Wholesale dealers that are licensed to 
distribute beer and wine in Vermont. 

 Licensed manufacturers of beer and wine. 

 Certificate of approval holders 
◦ A manufacturer or distributor of beer or wine that is 

not licensed in Vermont who wishes to import beer 
or wine into Vermont for distribution by a licensed 
wholesale dealer or packager. 



 A “franchise” is defined in 7 V.S.A. § 701 as: 
◦ a commercial relationship between a wholesale dealer and a manufacturer 

or certificate of approval holder; 
◦ that has been in existence for at least one year; 
◦ and satisfies one or more of the following: 

 is of a definite or indefinite duration and is or is not in writing  
 the wholesale dealer is granted the right to offer and sell the brands of beer 

or wine offered by the certificate of approval holder or manufacturer 
 the wholesale dealer, as an independent business, constitutes a component 

of the certificate of approval holder’s or manufacturer’s distribution system 
 the wholesale dealer's business is substantially associated with the certificate 

of approval holder’s or manufacturer’s brand, advertising, or another 
commercial symbol designating the manufacturer 

 the wholesale dealer's business is substantially reliant on the certificate of 
approval holder or manufacturer for the continued supply of beer or wine 

 a written or oral arrangement for a definite or indefinite period in which a 
certificate of approval holder or manufacturer grants a wholesale dealer a 
license to use a trade name, trade mark, or related characteristic, and in 
which there is a community of interest in the marketing of goods or services 
at wholesale, retail, or otherwise 

 



 “Notwithstanding the terms, provisions, or 
conditions of any agreement or franchise, no 
certificate of approval holder or manufacturer 
shall cancel, terminate, or refuse to continue 
a franchise, or cause a wholesale dealer to 
relinquish a franchise, unless good cause is 
shown to exist.”  7 V.S.A. § 703. 

 Good cause is not defined by statute but 
could be defined in a franchise agreement. 



 Certificate of approval holder or manufacturer must 
provide the wholesale dealer with 120 days’ notice of 
intent to terminate or cancel a franchise agreement. 
◦ Notice requirements may be waived if the reason for termination 

or cancellation of the franchise agreement is: 
 Bankruptcy; or 
 The certificate of approval holder or manufacturer can prove to the 

court that providing the required notice would do irreparable harm to 
the marketing of its product. 

 Notice must state the reasons for the intended 
termination. 

 Wholesale dealer has 120 days to rectify any claimed 
deficiency. 

 A party may petition the Superior Court for a hearing to 
determine whether good cause exists to allow termination 
of a franchise agreement. 



 Prohibits a manufacturer from: 
◦ Inducing or coercing a wholesale dealer to accept delivery of 

alcoholic beverages, advertisements, or other commodities that 
were not ordered by the wholesale dealer. 

◦ Inducing or coercing a wholesale dealer to do an illegal act by 
threatening to cancel or terminate the franchise agreement. 

◦ Failing or refusing to deliver promptly to a wholesale dealer any 
beer or wine that was ordered and is publicly advertised for 
immediate sale. 

◦ Entering into a second franchise agreement for a sales territory 
that was granted to a wholesale dealer in an existing franchise 
agreement. 

 If a manufacturer or certificate of approval holder merges 
with a third-party, its pre-existing franchise agreements 
shall continue unless the wholesale dealer waives its rights 
or good cause for termination of the franchise agreement 
is shown. 



 Prohibits a wholesale dealer from selling products 
outside of the designated sales territory in the 
franchise agreement. 

 Requires a wholesale dealer that wishes to sell its 
interest in a franchise agreement to a third-party to 
give 90 days’ notice of the transfer to the 
manufacturer or certificate of approval holder. 
◦ If manufacturer or certificate of approval holder wishes to 

resist sale, it may petition the Superior Court for a hearing 
no later than 60 days prior to the sale. 

◦ Court will approve the sale if it finds that the proposed 
transferee is able to: 
 substantially continue the operations of the franchise; 
 assume the obligations of the franchise holder; and  
 conduct the business in a manner that will protect the interests 

of the certificate of approval holder or manufacturer. 



 From July 1, 2018 until January 1, 2022, 
H.710 would permit a manufacturer or 
certificate of approval holder that produces or 
distributes not more than 300,000 barrels of 
beer or 100,000 gallons of wine to terminate 
a franchise agreement for no cause upon 30 
days notice and payment of fair market value. 

 Fair market value is equal to: 
◦ Cost of laid-in inventory + one year’s gross profits. 
◦ Gross-profits are equal to the average annual gross 

profits during the last three years. 



 Beginning January 1, 2022, H.710 would 
exempt a manufacturer or certificate of 
approval holder that produces or distributes 
not more than 300,000 barrels of beer or 
100,000 gallons of wine from Vermont’s 
Franchise Laws. 



 State Exemption for Beer Exemption for Wine 

Arkansas 15,000 barrels or less N/A 

Colorado Less than 300,000 gallons 
(~9,677 barrels) 

N/A 

Nevada Less than 2,000 barrels Less than 2,000 cases (“case 
of wine” means 12-750 ml 
bottles of wine or an equal 
amount of wine.) 

Utah Less than 60,000 barrels (up 
to 4% a.b.v.) 

N/A 

Washington Less than 200,000 barrels N/A 



State FMV Termination Provision  Definition of FMV 

Delaware Supplier may terminate a franchise agreement 
without good cause upon payment to the 
wholesaler of reasonable compensation for the 
value of the wholesaler’s business related to the 
terminated or transferred brand or brands. 

“the inventory at laid-in cost of the terminated or 
transferred brand or brands and its associated 
good will.” 
“Associated good will” equals the wholesaler’s 
average annual gross profits on the terminated 
or transferred brands for the last three fiscal 
years or lesser period during which the brands 
have been distributed by the wholesaler.  
“Gross profits” means selling price less F.O.B., 
taxes, and freight. 

New York A brewer with an annual volume of less than 
300,000 barrels whose sales to the wholesaler 
are 3% or less of the wholesaler’s total annual 
sales measured in sales of 24 12-ounce units 
may terminate an agreement without good cause 
provided that, prior to the effective date of the 
termination, the brewer pays the wholesaler the 
FMV of the distribution rights which will be lost 
or diminished by the termination.  

“the amount a willing seller, under no 
compulsion to sell, would be willing to accept 
and a willing buyer, under no compulsion to 
purchase, would be willing to pay for the 
distribution rights” 

North 
Carolina 

In the absence of good cause, a small brewery 
that produces less than 25,000 barrels of beer 
may terminate a franchise agreement on 5 days’ 
notice and payment of fair market value. 

“the highest dollar amount at which a seller 
would be willing to sell and a buyer willing to buy 
at the time the self-distribution rights revert 
back to the brewery, after each party has been 
provided all information relevant to the 
transaction” 



Any Questions? 


